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To:  All local area businesses
From:  Windham County Sheriff’s Office
Subject:  Bad Checks – Insufficient Funds


To whom it may concern:

[bookmark: _GoBack]We recognize the impact and frustration perpetuated by people writing checks which are unable to be honored by financial institutions. We find it important to offer information to businesses, regarding checks written with insufficient funds, to ensure that we are able to prosecute cases. Below, you will find criteria that identifies general necessities for the consideration of criminal charges based on Vermont Law, Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rules of Evidence and policies of the Windham County State’s Attorney’s Office.

Individuals passing a check which is later returned due to insufficient funds will be considered for criminal prosecution if the following criteria have been met:

1) The check was in excess of $25.00.
2) The check is held as evidence.
3) The check was written on a Vermont checking account.  (No out of state checks.)
4) The check was passed in person. (No checks through the mail.)
5) The person who accepted the check is able to identify the individual who passed the check.
6) If the individual who passed the check is personally unknown to the person who accepted the check, the following information must have been obtained from the passer’s current driver’s license; 
A. Name
B. Address
C. License number
7) The check was presented for payment within 30 days after the date of issuance.
8) Notice of the checks dishonor was given to the individual who passed the check and more than ten (10) days provided for them to make the check good after receipt of the notice. (This notice is usually sent by the merchant via certified mail with a return receipt.  The certified receipt and returned receipt must be held as evidence).
9) The person’s name and address were pre-printed on the check. (No starter checks.)
10) No two party checks will be prosecuted.
11) No post-dated checks will be prosecuted.

It is our intent that by providing this information, you will be empowered to develop policies to protect your business. If there are any further questions regarding this, please feel free to contact the Windham County Sheriff’s Office at (802) 365-4942 to speak with a deputy.
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