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NOTICE OF INTENTION TO SUSPEND AND/OR DISQUALIFY
DRIVER'S LICENSE OR PRIVILEGE TO OPERATE

(pursuant to Sections 1205, 1218 and/or 4116 of Title 23 of the Vermont Statutes)

This is your first violation of 23 V.S.A. section 1201: Effective date of suspension is set forth below unless a hearing is requested.
This is your 2nd or subsequent violation of 23 V.S.A. section 1201 or 2nd or subsequent suspension under 23 V.S.A. section 1205

after July 1, 1991: Effective date of suspension is set forth below, even if you request a hearing.
This notice will not serve as a temporary license, as you are currently under suspension, or are not currently licensed.
On the date shown above, you were asked to submit to a breath or blood test for the purpose of determining your alcohol concentration
or the presence of other drug in your blood, as authorized by section 1202 (a) of Title 2 3 of the Vermont Statutes.
You refused to submit to the breath or blood test (license suspension of at least six months).
The results of the breath or blood test show that your alcohol concentration was or more, equal to or more than 0.08%, or
0.02% if operating a school bus (license suspension of at least 90 days).
You operated a commercial vehicle and refused to submit to the breath or blood test.
You operated a commercial vehicle and submitted to a breath or blood test which shows your alcohol concentration was or
more while operating a commercial vehicle, equal to more than 0.04%.

               THEREFORE, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles will be notified to:
SUSPEND your driver's license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle for the period stated above
DISQUALIFY you as a commercial driver for a period of at least one year (if first offense) or for your lifetime (if this is your
second or more offense)

and until all requirements are met for license reinstatement.
UNLESS YOU REQUEST A HEARING to argue that your license should not be suspended or disqualified, YOUR DRIVER'S
LICENSE, COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE AND/OR YOUR PRIVILEGE TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE IS
SUSPENDED AND/OR DISQUALIFIED BEGINNING: Date Suspension and/or Disqualification Begins

THIS NOTICE SHALL SERVE AS A TEMPORARY OPERATOR'S LICENSE AND IS VALID UNTIL 12:01 AM OF THE DATE OF
SUSPENSION. IF THIS IS YOUR FIRST VIOLATION OF 23 V.S.A. SECTION 1201 AND YOU DO NOT REQUEST A HEARING,
YOUR LICENSE WILL BE SUSPENDED AS PROVIDED IN THIS NOTICE. IF AFTER JULY 1, 1991, YOU WERE CONVICTED
OF A VIOLATION OF 23 V.S.A. SECTION 1201 OR HAD YOUR LICENSE SUSPENDED PURSUANT TO 23 V.S.A. SECTION 1205,
YOUR LICENSE WILL BE SUSPENDED ON THE 11TH DAY AFTER YOU RECEIVE THIS NOTICE, WHETHER OR NOT YOU
REQUEST A HEARING. IT IS A CRIME TO DRIVE WHILE YOUR LICENSE IS SUSPENDED. IF YOU ARE NOT CURRENTLY
LICENSED, THIS DOCUMENT DOES NOT GIVE YOU ANY RIGHT TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE ON A PUBLIC HIGHWAY.

1) YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO ASK FOR A HEARING BEFORE THE DISTRICT COURT TO CONTEST THE SUSPENSION
AND/OR DISQUALIFICATION OF YOUR OPERATOR'S LICENSE. IF JUDGMENT IS ENTERED AGAINST YOU IN THIS
PROCEEDING, YOU WILL BE ASSESSED COURT COSTS OF $75.00.

2) If you do not request a hearing, your license will be suspended and/or disqualified as provided in this notice.
3) If you wish to request a hearing before the District Court, you must mail or deliver your request for a hearing to the Commissioner of

Date Request DueMotor Vehicles by:
Date Request Due

4) If your request for a hearing is not mailed or delivered to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles by
you waive your right to a hearing and your license will be suspended and/or disqualified as provided in this notice.

5) In order to request a hearing, sign the attached form and mail or deliver the form to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles at the address
shown.

6) If you request a hearing, you or your attorney must appear at a preliminary hearing at the District Court in:
Court AddressCircuit/County Date Time

on at

(This hearing should be scheduled to take place within 21 days from the date of the offense.)
Date Issued

This notice was hand delivered mailed to the operator on

An affidavit describing the reasons the breath test was requested by the officer: was given or mailed to the defendant with this notice.
will be mailed at a later date.

Officer's Name (Printed) Signature of Law Enforcement OfficerOfficer No.

Copy 1: Operator, to use to request hearing; Copy 2: Operator's Records; Copy 3: Department of Motor Vehicles;  Copy 4: Officer

Yes NoLicense attached?
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Anyone who has received a notice of suspension under this section shall not apply for or receive a duplicate operator's
license while the matter is pending. A person who violates this subsection shall be fined not more than $500.00.
If you are detained, arrested, lodged or released upon citation for a second or subsequent violation of 23 VSA 1201,
no person shall sell, transfer, or encumber the title to a vehicle that may be subject to immobilization or forfeiture
unless approved by the court in which the charge is filed for good cause shown.

REQUEST FOR HEARING
REGARDING INTENTION TO SUSPEND

TO REQUEST A HEARING, SIGN THE BOTTOM OF THE WHITE COPY OF THIS FORM AND
MAIL IT IN THE ENVELOPE PROVIDED OR DELIVER IT WITHIN SEVEN DAYS TO THE
COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES, ATTENTION: DRIVER IMPROVEMENT, 120 STATE
STREET, MONTPELIER, VT 05603. KEEP THE GREEN COPY FOR YOUR RECORDS.

IF YOU REQUEST A HEARING by the date indicated on the Notice of Intention to Suspend:

2. A preliminary hearing will be held at the time and place given on the Notice on the front of this Request. THIS IS
THE ONLY NOTICE YOU WILL RECEIVE FOR THIS HEARING. At the preliminary hearing, the judge will tell
you about your rights. You will also have a chance to see all affidavits, reports, breath or blood test results, and any other
written testimony or evidence that the State plans to use at the final hearing, and to learn the names and addresses of any
of the State's witnesses. Likewise, you must bring with you to the preliminary hearing any reports, breath or blood test
results, and any other written testimony or evidence that you plan to use at the final hearing for the State to look at. You
must also bring the names and addresses of any witnesses you plan to use. ANY EVIDENCE OR WITNESSES'
NAMES NOT BROUGHT TO THE PRELIMINARY HEARING FOR INSPECTION BY THE STATE MAY NOT
BE ALLOWED TO BE USED IN THE FINAL HEARING.
3. Either you or your attorney must appear at this preliminary hearing. If you do not have an attorney who can
appear for you, and it would create a major hardship for you to appear, you must write to the court telling them why it
would create a hardship and ask to be excused. IF YOU DO NOT ATTEND AND HAVE NOT BEEN GRANTED
AN EXCUSE BY THE COURT, THE COURT MAY ENTER A JUDGMENT AGAINST YOU AND NOTIFY
THE COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES TO SUSPEND YOUR LICENSE, IF YOUR LICENSE HAS
NOT ALREADY BEEN SUSPENDED BY OPERATION OF LAW. At the end of the preliminary hearing, the court
will give you a time and date for the final hearing on suspension, which will be held within 21 days after the preliminary
hearing.
4. At the final hearing on the suspension, you and the State will present your evidence and arguments to the judge. For
information regarding the issues to be determined at the final hearing, see Title 23, Sections 1202 and 1205 (of the
Vermont Statutes Annotated). If the judge rules against you at this hearing, the court will notify the Commissioner of Motor
Vehicles, who will then suspend your license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle as described in the ''Notice of Intention
to Suspend'' on the front of this Request. If your license has not already been suspended by operation of law, you
will be assessed court costs of $75.00. If the court rules in your favor at this hearing, the court will notify the Department
of Motor Vehicles, you will be reinstated and the $65 reinstatement fee will be waived by the Department.

I REQUEST A HEARING IN THE DISTRICT COURT TO CONTEST THE SUSPENSION OF MY
DRIVER'S LICENSE OR PRIVILEGE TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE.

Date Signature

Tel. No./Home Address

Tel. No./Work

PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS A CIVIL HEARING. CRIMINAL CHARGES MAY ALSO BE BROUGHT
AGAINST YOU.

Rev. 11/06 SML

1. If after July 1, 1991, you have not been convicted of a violation of Operating a Vehicle while under the
Influence (23 V.S.A. section 1201) or had your operator's license suspended pursuant to 23 V.S.A. section 1205,
or if you are facing a violation of Operating a Commercial Vehicle while under the Influence (23 V.S.A. section
1218 and/or 4116), your license will not be suspended or your privilege to operate a motor vehicle will not be
taken away until after the final hearing on the suspension, and then only if the judge decides against you.
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