Press Release

Want to receive our press releases in your email?

Windham County Sheriff's Office
PO Box 266, Newfane, VT 05345

Annual awards for employees presented


NEWFANE -- The Windham County Sheriff's Office is proud to announce the recipients of numerous awards, given on January 21st, 2017. Sheriff Clark presented the awards at the 4th Annual Awards Ceremony to recognize the actions of his staff.

The Deputy Mark H. Dooley Award was presented to Captain Robert Lakin, for his tireless dedication, compassion, enthusiasm and initiative in policing. Captain Lakin served as the Chief Deputy from 2008 to 2016. During his tenure, he led by example, establishing a standard of conduct for all personnel. Captain Lakin took time with each individual he came into contact with, ensuring all he worked with received the highest quality of service.

The Sheriff's Merit Award was presented to Deputy First Class Brett Gaylord who has demonstrated unusual devotion to duty in his assignment as the School Resource Officer at the Brattleboro Union High School from 2012 to 2016.

Deputy Noah Rheaume was recognized as the Deputy of the Year for demonstrated excellence, unusual and continued dedication to the Windham County Sheriff’s Office as recognized by superiors, peers and the public.

Dispatch Sandy Boyd was recognized as the Dispatcher of the Year for excellent, unusual and continued dedication to the Windham County Sheriff's Office and the residents of Windham County, as recognized by superiors, peers and the public.

Deputy First Class Jonathan Griffus was given the Distinguished Employee Award which signifies an employee who demonstrates unusual flexibility, positive attitude, commitment and professionalism to the Windham County Sheriff's Office over a continued period of time.

Lieutenant Mark Anderson, Sergeant Dana Shepard and Sergeant Tyler Cooke received the Volunteer Service Award. The Volunteer Service Award is given to the top ten percent of employees who donate their time to support the people of Windham County in agency coordinated events.

Please join us in congratulating these individuals for their hard work and accomplishments!

Media Contact:
Sheriff Keith D. Clark
Phone: 802-365-4942